Daily Archives: May 5, 2012

Feminism is ove…

Feminism is over rated, just as all the other -isms are…communism, communalism, regionalism, fascism. It won’t be long before we hear or read about the birth of a new school of thought – masculinism. But that is a completely different topic. Anyway, as I was saying, isms are over rated. Why does a woman need groups to tell her that she ought to stand up for herself? It’s like people telling you that you ought to pee when your bladder’s full, ’cause that’ll relieve you of your suffering.

But, again, it would not be fair to discount the contributions of the lovely male chauvinists of our country – those who make rules, who interpret them in a way that’ll suit them and those who implement them. And these are not mutually exclusive and independent sets.

The other day, I was standing outside my office, chatting up a colleague-cum-friend, and I noticed this man, about 65-66 years old, staring at me. The stubborn ass that I am, I stared back. Even after about two to three minutes of indulging in a war of stares, he showed no signs of backing off. In fact, he stepped onto the pavement and stood next to me, winking at me and giving me a lecherous smile. That was it. The threshold of my patience burst and anger seeped through every cell in my body – living and dead. I turned to face him (he chose to stand slightly away from my line of vision after accomplishing the brave tasks).

Me: Life mein problem kya hai?

He: Urrrmmm…

SSLLAAAPPP!!!

That was the sound my right hand made on coming in contact with his left cheek.

Me: Ab bol, life mein problem kya hai?

He: Urrrmmmm…nahi woh…do ladkiyan…

SSSLLLAAPP!!!

A bigger sound from the contact of the aforementioned elements.

He scrambled. Jai Ho Feminism Ki!

Leave a comment

May 5, 2012 · 18:15